New President for Nigerian Academy of Science

No Comments » February 1st, 2009 posted by // Categories: Science & Technology




New President for Nigerian Academy of Science


Written by Hamisu Muhammad   


Monday, 02 February 2009


Immediate past Vice Chancellor of University of Lagos, Professor Oye Ibidapo-Obe has been named the new President of Nigerian Academy of Science. He was elected at the annual general meeting (AGM) of the academy last week.

Ibidapo-Obe, a Professor of Systems Engineering, is to lead the Academy as president for four years.   He takes over from Prof David Okali (Professor Emeritus of the University of Ibadan). In his parting address, Prof Okali thanked the Academy for the opportunity to serve and expressed optimism about the future of the Academy.

The academy also used the AGM of last week to elect six science professors into her fellowship. They are Michael Umale Adikwu –   Prof of Pharmacy, Tom Aifuo Aire – Professor of Veterinary Medicine, Adeyinka .G. Falusi – Professor of Hematology/Researcher, Rotimi Ayodele Oderinde – Professor of Industrial Chemistry, Peter Azikiwe Onwualu – Professor of Agricultural Engineering, and Celestine .E. Onwuliri – Professor of Zoology/Parasitologist.

“The Nigerian Academy of Sciences, “a record on its website reads, “was inaugurated in 1977 as the climax of five years of renewed effort by concerned Nigerian scientists under the auspices of the Science Association of Nigeria (SAN) to overcome the obstacles that had plagued previous efforts of about 20 years to establish an academy of science. The academy membership is currently 10, an average of five new members are elected each year. The main objectives of the academy are to promote the growth, acquisition and dissemination of scientific knowledge and to facilitate its use in the solution of major problems of national interest.

Opt In Image
Send Me Free Email Updates

(enter your email address below)

Leave a Reply


Home | About | Contact | Login