NDERG COMMUNICATION – Communicating With, Raising Funds For, About NDERG……

No Comments » January 30th, 2009 posted by // Categories: Nigerians in the Diaspora


January 30, 2009

Dear All:


We are sure that you are as elated as many of us are about a recent class-action law suit victory in an Abuja Federal High Court to enable Nigerians living abroad to vote in-situ.  That is just one of a thousand steps yet to be taken for realization of the dream of full citizenship voting rights for us Nigerian citizens living away from the shores of Nigeria. 
Much of the ensuing steps will need money. Consequently, we urge you to contribute ASAP to the Nigerian Diaspora Electoral Reform Group NDERG fund by:
(1)  using our Bank of America Deposit Account No. 44600-561-7515 [Name: “Nigerian Diaspora Electoral Reform Group NDERG”.] This is the fastest, most direct and least expensive means.
(2)  using PayPal: just copy this URL into your browser or click it:
This draws a processing fee (typically between 3-5% of amount donated.)
(3)  sending a personal bank check or money order to NDERG’s Executive Director Ms. Thelma Horton ( Tel: 919-636-5958), made to “Nigerian Diaspora Electoral Reform Group, NDERG”. The address is:

      c/o Ms Thelma Horton (Executive Director)

      84405 Winslow Governors Club    
      Chapel Hill NC 27517-8539
      United States of America (USA)


We will also suggest that you forward this email – possibly with your own personal touch – to your own network of Nigerian Diaspora members and friends, because we believe that we are all in this together, and that it transcends ethnic or political affiliations, etc. that sometimes bedevil us.
In the time being, you can voluntarily subscribe to the listserve:
if you have any particular ideas to offer about electoral reform in general or the Diaspora vote issue in particular.  Those who contribute financially to NDERG and so expressly wish it will also be signed up on the listserve
where some more specific NDERG-related discussions will also take place and documents will be shared.
A website www.nderg.org is currently being developed.  Several documents about NDERG are currently available in our listserve database for those (financially) subscribed to Nderg@yahoogroups.com, and will become available by-and-by on our website.
NDERG’s Executive Director Ms. Thelma Horton (thelmahorton2007@yahoo.com, 919-636-5958) will be the main point of contact for NDERG activities.  She will be in charge of the day-to-day activities of NDERG.
Please note that NDERG was registered in November 2008 as a Washington-DC-USA-based non-profit organization (see attached JPEG file), with an IRS EIN Number 26-3783307,  with appropriate Articles of Incorporation, and with a thirteen-member initial Board of Trustees that includes a majority of the original twenty class-action-suit deponents who expressed interest in being Trustees.
Full list of Members of the Board of Trustees is:  Dr. Baba Adams, Mr. Victor Adewusi (Board Financial Secretary), Mr. Segun Ajibulu, Prof. Mobolaji Aluko (Board Coordinator), Oloye Lekan Awojoodu, Honorable Akeem Bello, Dr. Emmanuel Dada, Ms. Thelma Horton (NDERG Executive Director), Sir Tony Nammor, Dr. Yemi Oke (Board Legal Adviser), Mr. Alex Ike Okeke, Mr. Uzoma Onyemaechi (Board Secretary/Treasurer), Ms. Zainab Sheni.
Thank you all in advance for your donations and participation in this exciting venture  – and best wishes.

Bolaji Aluko
NDERG Board Coordinator/Member, Board of Trustees
Tel: 240-535-3975


Nigeria Diaspora Voting Class Action Suit – Plaintiffs’ List
S/N. Name, City, State & Country of Residence, [State of Origin in Nigeria]
1.  Hon. Akeem Bello, Chapel Hill, NC, USA [Ogun]
2.  Prof. Bolaji Aluko, Burtonsville, MD, USA [Ekiti]
3.  Dr. Baba M. Adam, Prescott, AZ, USA [Borno]
4.  Mr. Uzoma Onyemaechi, Taylor, MI, USA [Imo]
5. Prof. Isa Odidi, Toronto, Canada [Kano]
6.  Dr. Emmanuel Dada, Princeton, NJ, USA [Ekiti]
7.  Mr. Segun Ajibulu, Raleigh, NC, USA [Ekiti]
8.  Mr. Surajudeen Seriki, Houston, TX, USA [Ogun]
9.  Ms. Zainabu N. Sheni, Silver Spring, MD, USA [Plateau]
10. Prof. Adeoye Akinsanya, Austell, GA, USA [Ogun]
11. Mr. Uzoma C. Obi, York, PA, USA [Imo]
12. Oloye Lekan Awojoodu, Burtonsville, MD, USA [Osun]
13. Prince Stephen T. Malu, Gainesville, FL, USA [Benue]
14. Mr. Victor O.A. Adewusi, East Providence, RI, USA [Ekiti]
15. Mr. Kolawole E. Silva-Ope, Dallas, TX, USA [Lagos]
16. Mr. Alex Ike Okeke, Baltimore, MD, USA [Anambra]
17. Sir Tony Nammor, Bladensburg, MD, USA [Delta]
18. Dr. Yemi Oke, Toronto, Canada [Ogun]
19. Mr. Ochi C. Ogbuaku, II, Ajman, United Arab Emirates (UAE) [Abia]
20. Dr. (Mrs.) Oluremi Ajibewa, Gravesend, Kent, UK  [Ondo]
For more information,  please contact

Ms. Thelma Horton (NDERG Executive Director)
Nigerian Diaspora Electoral Reform Group NDERG 


Opt In Image
Send Me Free Email Updates

(enter your email address below)

Leave a Reply


Home | About | Contact | Login