GHANA ELECTION UPDATE – Welcome to Ghana's Tain Constituency – New Presidential Battleground

No Comments » December 30th, 2008 posted by // Categories: African Affairs


Presidential Results Summary

2nd Round of Elections

Updated at 4:37 pm, Tuesday 30th December, 2008 For 229 Constituencies

Candidate Votes Obtained  Candid






Latest News


The winner of 2008 Presidential Election Runoff would be determined after voting in the Tain Constituency on Friday, Dr Kwadwo Afari-Gyan, Chairman of the Electoral Commission (EC) announced in Accra on Tuesday. Speaking at a news conference, Dr Afari-Gyan said mathematically the results from the constituency could affect the outcome of the Runoff because the number of voters in the constituency was more than the difference between Professor John Evans Atta Mills of National Democratic Congress (NDC) and Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo of New Patriotic Party (NPP).

He announced that the results from 229 out of the 230 constituencies that have been certified by the EC, gave Prof Mills 4,501,466 votes representing 50.13 per cent of total valid votes cast while Nana Akufo-Addo garnered 4,478,411 votes representing 49.87 per cent. Thus the difference of 23,055 votes could not give Prof Mills the presidency since the number of voters in the Tain constituency was more than the figure. Prof Mills won in the Tain constituency during the 2008 General Election. He obtained 16,211 votes, representing 50.7 per cent, while Nana Akufo-Addo got 14,935 votes representing 46.8 per cent.
Welcome to Tain: New Presidential Battleground



Last Updated: Tuesday, 30 December 2008, 21:50 GMTPrevious Page


Tain will see a sea of NDC and NPP paraphernalia before Friday
The battle to replace President J.A. Kufuor as Ghana’s next president is still deadlocked, and a third and final decider has been fixed for January 2, 2009.

The Tain Constituency ( Tain District– created Nov. 12, 2003) of the Brong Ahafo Region, with a voter population of 53,880, is the battleground for the final determination of which of Nana Addo Adankwa Akufo-Addo of the New Patriotic Party and Prof. JE.A. Mills of the National Democratic Congress is president.

Two back-to-back races have failed to produce a winner, and even though the coming decider is not exactly a complete race, the Chairman of the Electoral Commission says it holds the key to the ultimate answer.

General Elections on December 7 saw Nana Akufo-Addo lead the race, polling 4,159,439 or 49.13 per cent, while Prof. Mills polled 4,056,634 or 47.92 per cent. On that occasion, the leader failed to win the race because he needed anything above 50 per cent.

Then came the runoff, and once again, neither contestant has been declared winner yet, pending the outcome of the Tain Constituency election. EC Chairman Dr. Kwadwo Afari Gyan announced that out of 229 constituencies whose results the Commission collated, Professor Mills has polled 4,501,466 or 50.13 percent of valid votes cast, while Nana Akufo-Addo polled 4,478,411 or 49.87 percent.

Voting in the constituency runoff did not come off because of late arrival of electoral materials, however on December 7, Prof Mills won the constituency votes, once again, marginally. He garnered 16,211 votes against Nana Addo who had 14,935 votes on an occasion turn-out was 61.03 per cent.

Tain was the scene of bitter allegations between the NPP and NDC following the general elections on December 7. The NPP alleged that the constituency result was manipulated to favour the NDC.

Days after the polls, the EC offices in the constituency was razed in what was suspected to be the work of arsonists. A journalist, Kofi Doe Lawson, told Joy FM a security man on duty detected smoke from the building at about 1am before it went up in flames.

Official documents, ballot boxes and the roof of the entire building burnt to ashes.

Story by Isaac Yeboah



Opt In Image
Send Me Free Email Updates

(enter your email address below)

Leave a Reply


Home | About | Contact | Login